California State Lands Commission

Guidelines for Implementation of Individual Rights under the Information Practices
Act

Your rights concerning your personal records are listed in the Information Practices Act
(Civil Code sections 1798.30 through 1798.44). These rights are summarized below.

You have the right to:

e Inquire and be notified whether the California State Lands Commission maintains a
record containing personal information about you.

e Inspect your personal information maintained in the Commission’s records.

e Request the amendment or correction of such records and file a statement of
disagreement as part of your record if Commission staff refuses to comply with your
request.

¢ Request a review of determination if your request to inspect a record is denied.

If you wish to exercise any of the rights described above, please submit a written request to
the California State Lands Commission, 100 Howe Avenue, Suite 100 - South, Sacramento,
California 95825. Please direct your request to the Commission’s Privacy Officer.

You are entitled to inquire about your personal information in the Commission’s records,
inspect Commission records in person, and request copies of Commission records
containing your personal information. If you wish to inspect records in person, you must
schedule an appointment with the Privacy Officer. The Privacy Officer will schedule an
appointment within 30 days (or 60 days if records are geographically dispersed) after
receiving your request to inspect records. If requested, the Privacy Officer will produce
exact copies of records within 15 days of your inspection. If you would like copies of records
containing your personal information, your request is subject to a fee of ten cents ($.10) per

page.

If you determine that your personal information is incorrect, you have the right to request, in
writing, that the Privacy Officer amend incorrect records. If the Privacy Officer refuses to
amend the records, you have the right to request a review by the Commission’s Executive
Officer, or designee. If the Executive Officer, or designee, refuses to amend the records,
you may file a statement of reasonable length setting forth your reasons for disagreement.

These rights are limited and subject to exceptions. If you would like to read the complete
description of these rights and their limitations, see California Civil Code sections 1798.30
through 1798.44. If requested records are exempt from access, Commission staff will notify
you within 30 days of your request. It is a misdemeanor to request personal information
from a state agency under false pretenses, potentially resulting in a fine up to $5,000 or up
to one year in prison, or both (Civil Code section 1798.56).
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