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NOTICE OF VIOLATION 

The California State Lands Commission will hold an enforcement hearing to determine whether 
to impose administrative civil penalties and whether to issue an order for removal of structures  

against 

[Respondent's Namel 

[general description of location and structures]  

The enforcement hearing has been scheduled before the California State Lands Commission on:  
JDate] at [City]  

If you dispute the allegations, you must respond to this notice by [date]. The hearing 
date above will be postponed and you will be given an opportunity to present evidence in your 

defense.  

If you do not Faguff-to-respond to this notice the California State Lands Commission may  
issue of violation may result in a 6+:1454-m441-civil penalty and/or order to remove structures from 

state land  an injunction being issued against you without your having an opportunity to contest 
the charges or to introduce evidence in your defense. 

To minimize or avoid future penalties you should immediately contact the staff identified below 
to bring your structures into compliance.  

Purpose of Hearing 

The California State Lands Commission (Commission) is issuing this Notice of Violation 

(Notice), along with the enclosed Statement of Defense form because Commission staff believes 
you may be responsible for or involved with maintaining a structure on land owned by the state 
and under Commission jurisdiction without appropriate authorization in violation of California 
Public Resources Code (PRC)  § 6224.3. 

At the enforcement hearing, the Commission will consider the  This Notice contains a 
brief summary of the evidence that staff currently relies on  and determine: 1) whether you are 

liable for maintaining unauthorized structures on state land; 2) whether a civil penalty and/or 

order for removal is appropriate; and 3) the amount and conditions of the civil penalty. 

Civil Penalty 

The Commission may impose a civil penalty of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) 
per day, or 160% of the market rent where the rental value of the property would exceed  
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NOTICE OF VIOLATION 
$360,000 per year, while that 	the violation continues. (Public Resources Code, 6224.3(b)).  
The Commission may also issue an injunction against your continued unauthorized occupation of 
state land or order the removal of the violating structures. The Commission may rule on the  
evidence before it and impose a civil penalty and order even if you fail to respond to this  
Notice or appear at the enforcement hearing. -You may reduce or avoid penalties by  
promptly removing any unauthorized structures from state land and submitting proof of restoring 
state land to Commission staff, or by bringing all structures under lease. The Commission  
reserves sole and absolute discretion whether to authorize any proposed use of state land.  

Hearing Process 

The enforcement hearing is an informal administrative hearing before the Commission.  
The Commissioners are the Lieutenant Governor, the State Controller, and the Director of the  
Department of Finance. The Commissioners or their designated alternates preside over the  
hearings as the hearing officers. A copy of the regulations governing Commission enforcement 
hearings is included with this Notice for your reference.  

If you do not respond to this Notice by the deadline specified above, the scheduled  
meeting will proceed. If the exact address and start time of the enforcement hearing is not 
specified above, you will be notified at least ten (10) days prior to the meeting. The Commission 
Enforcement Staff will present its case to the Commissioners. If the Commissioners find the  
evidence supports a ruling against you, the Commissioners may adopt a ruling, impose a penalty,  
and issue an order against you. You will be provided with a written copy of the decision.  

You may resolve this matter informally without the need for a hearing and the  
associated penalties. If you respond to the contact person identified below before the deadline  
and state that you wish to resolve the matter, Commission staff may be able to postpone or 
dismiss this entire action. If you act promptly to either bring the structure under lease or remove 
it, you will minimize any potential fines and may have the entire proceeding dismissed. You are 
encouraged to discuss your options with Commission staff.  

If you dispute the allegations, contact the Commission Enforcement Staff identified  
below before [date]. The hearing date above will be postponed so that you can submit 
information in your defense. The Commission Enforcement Staff will prepare a statement of 
position which is a more detailed analysis of the information enclosed with this Notice. You will  
receive the statement of position between 30 and 180 days of receiving this Notice.  

Once you receive the statement of position from the Enforcement Staff, you have 
forty-five (45) days to respond. The statement of position will specify the exact deadline. You 
may submit any evidence or argument that disproves the allegations, relates to whether you are  
liable for maintaining unauthorized structures on state land, or might reduce the penalties  
associated therewith. The enclosed Statement of Defense form is designed to help you focus  
your evidence and arguments toward the relevant issues. You may use a separate paper and  
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NOTICE OF VIOLATION 
enclose any other evidence, but you are strongly advised to respond to each section in the  
Statement of Defense form. The summary of allegations in this Notice is designed to help you  
begin preparing your defense. You must submit all evidence and argument in your defense 
by the date your Statement of Defense is due. Evidence submitted after the deadline may 
be excluded from consideration.  

—The Commission Enforcement Staff may prepare a response to your submitted argument 
and evidence. This response document is optional. If the Enforcement Staff prepares a response, 
the response may include new information or evidence limited in scope to responding to your 
arguments and evidence. Otherwise, the Enforcement Staff is limited to evidence presented with  
its statement of position. The Enforcement Staff must submit their response at least forty-five  
(45) days before the enforcement hearing. You will be provided with this document if it 
produced.  

At least thirty (30) days prior to the enforcement hearing, the Advisory Staff will prepare  
a proposed decision and order. This document will summarize and analyze the argument and  
evidence submitted by both sides. The proposed decision and order functions like a tentative  
ruling in a court case by making proposed findings of fact and recommending a specific penalty 
and any associated orders. This document will also specify the date and location of your hearing.  

Your hearing will occur at a regularly scheduled public Commission meeting. Although  
the date and general city of the Commission's meetings are available in advance, the  
Commission's meetings can vary greatly in length and the number of persons attending.  
Accordingly, the specific venue and start time may be adjusted. If the exact address and start 
time of the Commission's meeting is not specified in the recommended decision and order, you  
will be notified at least ten (10) days prior to the meeting. You should be prepared for a 9:00  
a.m. start time, and set aside the entire day for the hearing. The Commission may address other  
business before your enforcement hearing, so you should be prepared to wait until your matter is 
called.  

At the hearing, each side will be limited to presenting the argument and evidence already  
submitted. Your presentation should focus on the law or facts in controversy. Once each side  
has concluded their presentations, the Commissioners may ask questions and issue a ruling. The  
ruling may adopt or modify the proposed decision and order. Once the Commission issues a 
decision and votes to adopt it, the ruling is final. You may appeal this decision to a civil court of 
competent jurisdiction within sixty (60) days pursuant to Public Resources Code section  
6224(e).  

Obtaining Documents and Evidence 

The evidence this Notice refers to is available at the Commission's Sacramento office. 
You can arrange to review these materials at the Commission's Sacramento office, have copies 
made at your expense, or both by contacting then Enforcement Staff specified below.  
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NOTICE OF VIOLATION 
Documents shall be provided within five (5) days of your request and upon paying all copying 
costs. Alternately, you may enquire whether the documents are available electronically,  
including the location on the Commission's website.  

Any documents served after this Notice will be delivered by U.S. mail or similar 
commercial carrier to the location where your property tax bill is sent unless you specify 
otherwise. When you respond to this Notice, you may specify the mailing address and/or  
provide information for electronic delivery of documents via electronic mail or other means.  

You are strongly encouraged to provide an electronic mail address as this avoids postal delays  
and ensures you have more time to respond to the allegations.  

Separation of Function 

The Commissioners serve as the decision makers in this matter. The Advisory Staff 

assists the Commissioners and is composed of the Executive Officer and his or her designees.  
The Enforcement Staff represents Commission staff before the Commission and is composed of 
the Chief of the Commission's Land Management Division and his or designees.  

In order to maintain separation of functions, the Enforcement Staff and the 
Respondent (you) are prohibited from communicating with the Commission, the 
Commissioner's alternates, or the Advisory Staff regarding any substantive matter in this 
proceeding. See section 3007 of the enclosed regulations for more information.  

Contact Information 

Enforcement Staff 

Name 

Address 

Phone Number 

Email 
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NOTICE OF VIOLATION 
	 of 	Commission staff at 916 574 1900. This Notice is 

intended to inform you of the nature of the possible violation so that you can fill out the enclosed 
Statement of Defense form and otherwise be prepared for the Commission enforcement 
proceedings. 

	

THE COMMISSION MAY IMPOSE AN ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY OF UP 	 
TO $1,000.00 PER DAY OR UP TO 160% OF THE MARKET RENT RATE ON  
PROPERTIES WHERE ANNUAL RENT WOULD EXCEED $365,000. THE PENALTY 
MAY BE IMPOSED AT THE CONCLUSION OF THIS HEARING EVEN IF YOU FAIL 
TO APPEAR. 

Careful reading and a timely response to these materials is essential to allow you to 
present your side of the case to the Commission. A copy of the regulations governing 

concerning this Notice, the enclosed Statement of Defense form, the enforcement hearing 
procedures, or anything else pertinent to this matter, you should contact as quickly as possible, 
	 of Commission staff at 916 571 1900. Thank you for your 
cooperation. 

Civil Penalty 

The Commission may impose a civil penalty of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) 
per day that the violation continues. (Public Resources Code, § 6224.3(b)) You may reduce or 
avoid penalties by promptly removing any unauthorized structures from state land and 

lease. The Commission reserves discretion whether to authorize any proposed use of state land. 
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NOTICE OF VIOLATION 
Enforcement Hearing 

Your matter  will be presented to the Commission as an informal administrative hearing 
on the date set forth below.  The start time o 
the meeting start time below, and you should set aside the entire day. 

Failure to timely submit the enclosed Statement of Defense form, along  with  any 
supporting documents may impair your ability to present argument to mitigate liability  for, or the 
amount of, any civil  penalty to the Commission at the date and time set forth below. The 

Resources Code, §  6224.4(d)) 

Meeting Start Time: 

Nature of the Violation 

1. Person or persons believed responsible for violation: 

2. Location of.sState4Land and basis for Commission Jurisdiction over the land in 
questiondetermining the boundary of state lands: 

3. Basis for Commission jurisdiction over the  land in questiondetermining the boundary of 
State Land: 

4. Description of specific structure(s) in violation: 
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NOTICE OF VIOLATION 

5. Duration of the violation (if pertinent and known): 

6. Dates of previous attempts by Commission staff to contact persons believed to be 
responsible for violation (if pertinent and known): 

7. Summary of pertinent information and documentation currently known to Commission 
staff with reference to supporting evidence contained in the enforcement file. (You may 
contact the Commission staff member listed above to arrange review of the file  
maintained at  the file is available at the Commission's Sacramento offices 	for your 
review; you should call the above listed Commission staff member to arrange to review 
the file): 

8. If Commission staff is proposing a modification to the penalty described in Title 2, 
California Code of Regulations, Section 3014 based on the factors described in Public 
Resources Code § 6224.3(c), then the facts cited and factors relied on are: 
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NOTICE OF VIOLATION 

9. 	Any other statement or information that Commission staff believes is either pertinent to 
the alleged violation or important to a full understanding of the alleged violation: 
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