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NOTICE OF VIOLATION



NOTICE OF VIOLATION

FAILURE TO RESPOND TO THIS NOTICE OF VIOLATION MAY RESULT IN A
SUBSTANTIAL CIVIL PENALTY AND/OR AN INJUNCTION BEING ISSUED AGAINST
YOU WITHOUT YOUR HAVING AN OPPORTUNITY TO CONTEST THE CHARGES OR
TO INTRODUCE EVIDENCE IN YOUR DEFENSE.

The California State Lands Commission (Commission) is issuing this Notice of Violation
(Notice), along with the enclosed Statement of Defense form because Commission staff believes
you may be responsible for or involved with maintaining a structure on land owned by the state
and under Commission jurisdiction without appropriate authorization in violation of California
Public Resources Code § 6224.3. This Notice contains a brief summary of the evidence that staff
currently relies on. The evidence this Notice refers to is available at the Commission’s
Sacramento office. You can arrange to review these materials at the Commission’s Sacramento
office, have copies made at your expense, or both by contacting

of Commission staff at 916-574-1900. This Notice is intended
to inform you of the nature of the possible violation so that you can fill out the enclosed
Statement of Defense form and otherwise be prepared for the Commission enforcement
proceedings.

THE COMMISSION MAY IMPOSE AN ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY OF UP
TO $1,000.00 PER DAY OR UP TO 160% OF THE MARKET RENT RATE ON
PROPERTIES WHERE ANNUAL RENT WOULD EXCEED $365,000. THE PENALTY
MAY BE IMPOSED AT THE CONCLUSION OF THIS HEARING EVEN IF YOU FAIL
TO APPEAR.

Careful reading and a timely response to these materials is essential to allow you to
present your side of the case to the Commission. A copy of the regulations governing
Commission enforcement hearings is included for your reference. If you have any questions
concerning this Notice, the enclosed Statement of Defense form, the enforcement hearing
procedures, or anything else pertinent to this matter, you should contact as quickly as possible,
of Commission staff at 916-574-1900. Thank you for your

cooperation.

Civil Penalty

The Commission may impose a civil penalty of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000.00)
per day that the violation continues. (Public Resources Code, §8 6224.3(b)) You may reduce or
avoid penalties by promptly removing any unauthorized structures from state land and
submitting proof of restoring state land to Commission staff, or by bringing all structures under
lease. The Commission reserves discretion whether to authorize any proposed use of state land.
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Enforcement Hearing

Your matter will be presented to the Commission as an informal administrative hearing
on the date set forth below. The start time of your hearing may vary. You should be present at
the meeting start time below, and you should set aside the entire day.

Failure to timely submit the enclosed Statement of Defense form, along with any
supporting documents may impair your ability to present argument to mitigate liability for, or the
amount of, any civil penalty to the Commission at the date and time set forth below. The
Commission may impose a penalty if you fail to respond or appear at the hearing. (Public
Resources Code, § 6224.4(d))

Date:

Location:

Meeting Start Time:

Nature of the Violation

1. Person or persons believed responsible for violation:

2. Location of state land and basis for determining the boundary of state lands:

3. Basis for Commission jurisdiction over the land in question:
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Description of specific structure(s) in violation:

Duration of the violation (if pertinent and known):

Dates of previous attempts by Commission staff to contact persons believed to be
responsible for violation (if pertinent and known):

Summary of pertinent information and documentation currently known to Commission
staff with reference to supporting evidence contained in the enforcement file. (the file is
available at the Commission’s Sacramento offices for your review; you should call the
above listed Commission staff member to arrange to review the file):




NOTICE OF VIOLATION

8. If Commission staff is proposing a modification to the penalty described in Title 2,
California Code of Regulations, Section 3014 based on the factors described in Public
Resources Code § 6224.3(c), then the facts cited and factors relied on are:

9. Any other statement or information that Commission staff believes is either pertinent to
the alleged violation or important to a full understanding of the alleged violation:




